Legion image

“The Object of the Legion of Mary is the Glory of God through the holiness of its members developed by prayer and active cooperation, under ecclesiastical guidance, in Mary’s and church’s work of crushing the head of the serpent and advancing the reign of Christ”

Welcome to the OFFICIAL website of the Senatus of Uganda; the Legion of Mary governing Council in Uganda. This website helps us to pass on information about the Legion of Mary. Hope you find it useful for you. Senatus of Uganda reports to the Concilium, the highest governing council of Legion of Mary in the World. Senatus of Uganda is represented in the Lay Apostolate Department. It is guided by that organ of the Uganda Episcopal Conference.
Senatus of Uganda supervises:
  • 02 Regiae
  • 26 Comitia
  • 25 Curiae (Including 4 in Major Seminaries, 4 in other tertiary institutions and 3 in Prisons)
  • 14 directly attached Praesidia (Including 9 in Prisons)
Centenary of Legion of Mary

Legion of Mary Centenary Celebrations in Uganda

Legion of Mary in Uganda joins the rest of the World to celebrate the founding of Legion of Mary. The celebrations started on 7th September 2021 and will end in September 2022. A Plenary Indulgence has been granted for the Centenary.

Councils/Praesidia attached to Senatus by Diocese

The Senatus of Uganda is currently made up of the following councils throughout the country which it supervises


  • Bunamwaya-Kiwumulo Comitium
  • Kampala Central Comitium
  • Kampala Comitium A
  • Kampala Comitium B
  • Nsambya Comitium
  • Christ the King Curia
  • Our Lady of Mt. Carmel, Kansanga Curia
  • Kireka Curia
  • National Major Seminary Curia, Ggaba
  • Our Lady and St. Jude, Naggulu Curia
  • St. Matia Mulumba Curia
  • St. Mbaaga Seminary Curia
  • Tertiary Institutions Curia A
  • Tertiary Institutions Curia B
  • Cause of our Joy, Makerere Praesidium
  • Mother of Christ, Christ the King Praesidium
  • Mother of Divine Grace, Lweza Praesidium
  • Queen of Peace, Namugomgo Praesidium

Kiyinda-Mityana Comitium

Lugazi Comitium

Kasana-Luweero Comitium

  • Kabuwoko Comitium
  • Kimannya Comitium
  • Villa Maria Comitium
  • Katigondo Seminary Curia


Regia of Western Uganda 

Kabale Regia

  • Regia of Western Uganda
  • Kinyamasika Seminary Curia
  • Bukuumi Comitium
  • Hoima Comitium
  • Kakindo Comitium
  • Mugalikke Comitium
  • Muhorro Comitium
  • Nyamigisa Comitium

Regia of Western Uganda


  • Budadiri Comitium
  • Mbale Comitium
  • Tororo Comitium
  • Jinja Comitium
  • Kamuli Comitium
  • Seat of Wisdom, PCJ
  • Kaabong Curia

No Council attached to Senatus

  • Kachumbala Curia
  • Kobwin Curia
  • Koloin Curia
  • Mukongoro Curia
  • Ngora Curia
  • Odwarat Curia
  • Toroma Curia


Gulu Tertiary Institutions Curia

Cause of our Joy Praesidium

Lira Comitium

  • Nebbi Comitium
  • Zumbo Comitium
The Legion of Mary is a lay apostolic association of Catholics who, with the sanction of the Church and under the powerful leadership of Mary Immaculate, Mediatrix of All Graces, serve the Church and their neighbour on a voluntary basis. With the approval and support of the Popes and a great many Bishops, Priests and Religious, as well as the prayers and efforts of Legionaries, the Legion, by the grace of God, has grown into a worldwide organisation with several million members.
In Uganda, it has spread in all dioceses.